VirtualDub Plugin Pack

Posted on September 15th, 2008

VirtualDub Plugin Pack

The VirtualDub Plugin Pack (VDPP), v1.0.0.6 currently, is virtualdub-fr.org exclusive.

It is a pack including the most commonly used input filters, available both in English and French.
The user can select one or more plugins to install, then the setup will copy the needed files to VirtualDub install directory and modify some registry keys if needed.

A future version will auto-detect plugged USB drives with U3 technology or PortableApps Platform and if so, will allow user to chose on which VirtualDub install (standard, U3, or PortableApps) the selected input plugins will have to be activated.

Tip: the setup version of VirtualDub available on this website first check for a local (same directory as “VirtualDub.exe”) “VD_plugin_pack.exe” file and, if detected, will then use it without trying to download it on Internet. It may be useful for a CD-ROM distribution, a silent install, or an install on a computer without Internet connection.

Tags: , , ,
Filed under Plugins | 8 Comments »

Input filters

Posted on August 22nd, 2008

Overview

VirtualDub exposes a new application programming interface (API) for a new type of plugin, input drivers!
Support for these input drivers has been introduced with v1.7.2, and SDK updated with v1.8.1, so older versions of VirtualDub won’t be able to use it.
Input filters allow to support some new input video and audio formats, so that input files not in AVI or MPEG1 file formats may be processed in VirtualDub. This filters are input filters only; it doesn’t allow to output/save/render to new formats.

Usage

Input filters can be loaded creating a folder named “Plugins32” in VirtualDub’s program folder, and placing the “plugin_name.vdplugin” files into that folder. VirtualDub will find and use the plugins automatically, and the corresponding video file formats will be available in the “Open video file…” dialog. Some plugins may offer some extended options and display it if “Ask for extended options after this dialog” is checked.

Check the VirtualDub website for the Plugin SDK for writing your own input filter if you are a developper.

Input filters list

  • DirectShow Input Driver v0.5 (by Avery Lee): support all of the video files read with Windows Media Player.
  • MPEG-2 Plugin v3.1 (by fccHandler): support MPEG-2 file format and VOB files. This plugin now replaces VirtualDub-MPEG2, which developpment has been stopped.
  • WMV Plugin v1.7 (by fccHandler): support Windows Media file format and WMV, WMA and ASF files. There are no decompressors in the plugin itself. You must have the proper codecs installed on your system to decompress the video and audio streams. This plugin now replaces VirtualDub-MPEG2, which developpment has been stopped.
  • AC-3 Plugin v1.2 (by fccHandler): support AC-3 audio format.
  • FLIC Plugin v1.0 (by fccHandler): support Autodesk Animator FLI and FLC files.
  • FLV Plugin v1.1.0 (by Moitah): support FLV files. H.263 and VP6 video are supported. MP3 and PCM audio are supported.
  • QuickTime Plugin v0.2.0.0 (by Tateu): support QuickTime files at MOV and MP4 file formats.

VirtualDub Plugin Pack

The VirtualDub Plugin Pack (VDPP) is virtualdub-fr.org exclusive.
It is a pack including the most commonly used input filters, available both in English and French.
For more details, please read the post VirtualDub Plugin Pack.

Tags: , , , , , , ,
Filed under Plugins | 10 Comments »

External video filters

Posted on August 22nd, 2008

Overview

VirtualDub exposes an application programming interface (API) that allows video filters to be written as plugins, extending the video filtering capabilities of the program. Such plugins can include effect plugins that render on top of the video, such as adding an animated logo or titles, or add noise reduction, motion compensation, and deinterlacing capabilities.

Usage

Video filters can be loaded on the spot by using the “Load…” button on the Add Filters dialog, but for filters that you use frequently, an easier way is to place them in the “plugins” folder inside the VirtualDub program directory. Any .vdf files in this folder are automatically loaded on startup, and the plugins within added to the available list. Note that VirtualDub does not currently support video filters written to a standard other than its own API.

Check the VirtualDub website for downloadable documentation and C++ header files for writing your own video filter.

External video filters list

A List of about 130 video filters for VirtualDub is available at Dee Mon’s website.
Many video filters are available too on the honorary filter website mantained by Donald Graft.

Tags: , , , , ,
Filed under Plugins | No Comments »

Pack de Plugins pour VirtualDub

Posted on septembre 15th, 2008

VirtualDub Plugin Pack

Le Pack de Plugins pour VirtualDub (ou VDPP pour VirtualDub Plugin Pack), actuellement en version 1.0.0.6, est une exclusivité de virtualdub-fr.org.

Il s’agit d’un pack regroupant les pilotes d’entrée les plus couramment utilisés, disponibles à la fois en langue française et en langue anglaise.
Il propose ainsi à l’utilisateur de sélectionner un ou plusieurs plugins à installer, et va ensuite copier les fichiers nécessaires dans le répertoire d’installation de VirtualDub et modifier certaines clés registre si nécessaire.

Une prochaine version détectera automatiquement la présence des clés USB disposant de la plateforme PortableApps ou de la technologie U3 et permettra alors à l’utilisateur de choisir l’installation de VirtualDub (standard, U3, ou PortableApps) pour laquelle les plugins d’entrée doivent être activés.

Astuce: la version avec installeur de VirtualDub disponible sur ce site va d’abord chercher le fichier « VD_plugin_pack.exe » en local (dans le même répertoire que « VirtualDub.exe ») et, s’il est détecté, va l’utiliser sans chercher à aller le télécharger sur Internet. Ca peut être pratique pour une distribution sur CD, une installation silencieuse et automatisée, ou une installation sur un poste non-connecté à Internet.

Tags: , , ,
Filed under Plugins | 8 Comments »

Pilotes d’entrée

Posted on août 22nd, 2008

Présentation

VirtualDub dispose d’une nouvelle interface de programmation d’application (API) pour un nouveau type d’extensions: les pilotes d’entrée!
La prise en charge de ces pilotes d’entrée a été introduite avec la v1.7.2, et le SDK mis à jour pour la v1.8.1. Les version plus anciennes de VirtualDub ne sont donc pas capable de les utiliser.
Les pilotes d’entrée permettent la prise en charge de nouveaux formats audio et vidéo en entrée, ce qui donne la possibilité de traiter des fichiers à des formats autres que AVI ou MPEG1 dans VirtualDub. Ces pilotes sont des pilotes d’entrée uniquement; ils ne permettent pas d’enregistrer vers de nouveaux formats.

Utilisation

Les pilotes d’entrée peuvent être chargés en créant un dossier nommé « Plugins32 » dans le répertoire du programme VirtualDub, et en plaçant les fichiers « nom_du_plugin.vdplugin » dans ce dossier. VirtualDub y détectera les pilotes et les chargera automatiquement. Les formats de fichiers vidéo correspondants seront alors disponibles dans la fenêtre « Ouvrir un fichier vidéo…« . Certains pilotes peuvent proposer des options supplémentaires et les afficher lorsque la case « Afficher les options d’importation supplémentaires« .

Si vous avez des connaissances en programmation et si vous souhaitez écrire votre propre pilote d’entrée, servez-vous du Plugin SDK disponible sur le site de VirtualDub.

Liste des pilotes d’entrée

  • Pilote d’entrée DirectShow v0.5 (par Avery Lee): prise en charge tous les formats de fichiers vidéo lus dans Windows Media Player.
  • Plugin MPEG-2 v3.1 (par fccHandler): prise en charge du format MPEG-2 et des fichiers VOB (DVD). Ce plugin remplace désormais VirtualDub-MPEG2, dont le développement est par conséquent arrêté.
  • Plugin WMV v1.7 (par fccHandler): prise en charge du format Windows Media et des fichiers WMV, WMA et ASF. Les bons codecs doivent être installés indépendamment sur le système pour pouvoir décompresser les flux audio/vidéo car ils ne sont pas inclus. Ce plugin remplace désormais la fonctionnalité de parseur WMV présente dans VirtualDub-MPEG2, dont le développement est par conséquent arrêté.
  • Plugin AC-3 v1.2 (par fccHandler): prise en charge du format audio AC-3.
  • Plugin FLIC v1.0 (par fccHandler): prise en charge des fichiers FLI et FLC Autodesk Animator.
  • Plugin FLV v1.1.0 (par Moitah): prise en charge des fichiers FLV. Les flux vidéo H.263 et VP6 ainsi que les flux audio MP3 et PCM sont supportés.
  • Plugin QuickTime v0.2.0.0 (par Tateu): prise en charge des fichiers QuickTime aux formats MOV et MP4.

Pack de Plugins pour VirtualDub

Le Pack de Plugins pour VirtualDub (VDPP pour VirtualDub Plugin Pack) est une exclusivité de virtualdub-fr.org.
Il s’agit d’un pack regroupant les pilotes d’entrée les plus couramment utilisés, disponibles à la fois en langue française et en langue anglaise.
Pour en savoir plus, consultez l’article Pack de Plugins pour VirtualDub.

Tags: , , , , , , ,
Filed under Plugins | 10 Comments »

Filtres externes

Posted on août 22nd, 2008

Présentation

VirtualDub dispose d’une interface de programmation d’application (API) qui permet aux filtres vidéo d’être écrits sous la forme de modules, étendant ainsi les possibilités de filtrage vidéo du programme. De tels plugins peuvent inclure des modules d’effets comme l’ajout d’un logo animé ou d’un titre, ou l’ajout de la réduction du bruit, de la compensation du mouvement, ainsi que de possibilités de désentrelacement.

Utilisation

Les filtres vidéo peuvent être mis en place à l’aide du bouton « Charger… » de la boîte de dialogue Filtres, mais pour les filtres que vous utilisez souvent, le moyen le plus facile est de les placer dans le sous-dossier « plugins » du dossier programme de VirtualDub. Tout fichier .vdf de ce sous-dossier sera chargé automatiquement au démarrage, et ajouté à la liste. Notez que VirtualDub ne prend pas actuellement en charge les filtres vidéo écrit dans un standard différent de sa propre API.

Si vous souhaitez écrire votre propre filtre vidéo, consultez le site web de VirtualDub pour télécharger la documentation et les fichiers d’en-tête C++ nécessaires.

Liste de filtres externes

En attendant que cette page soit complétée, vous pouvez accéder à une liste d’environ 130 filtres externes pour VirtualDub sur le site de Dee Mon (site et filtres en anglais).
Le site officiel des filtres externes pour VirtualDub est également intéressant, mais plus « fouilli », et toujours en anglais.

Tags: , , , , ,
Filed under Plugins | No Comments »